top of page
mexico.JPG
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnna Brant

Born For This

Updated: Jul 5, 2023

MY SISTER GAVE ME A SILVER BRACELET when I was ordained as a pastor. It is inscribed “I will not be afraid I was born for this”, a quote from Joan of Arc. I remembered a little of the history of her burning at the stake, but not much more. I looked into her life a little more after receiving this gift. I was deeply impacted by the level of her faith, especially at such a young age.

During the Hundred Years' War between France and England- Joan led the French army at the age of 17. She never actually fought in battle but was the leader that inspired the French to victory.

Joan came from a poor family, her dad was a peasant farmer. She didn’t learn to read or write as a child. She saw visions (she said they were from God) and acted in obedience to them. She was super unlikely as a military leader.

What struck me the most was Joan’s complete submission to God to the exclusion of all else. She wanted to please God and it didn’t matter the outcome. She very boldly and publicly proclaimed her faith and because of her faith, others believed.

There was no real reason that Joan would be a successful military leader- her upbringing and background didn’t really scream “I can command an army”. It was more likely the complete opposite. The fact that she saw visions probably made her less likely because most thought she was into witchcraft or crazy. She was a girl, young, not educated and not from a prominent family.

Joan was afraid of being burned at the stake. That did not deter her from her purpose.

She was a very young woman of deep faith. That faith was evident when being burned at the stake, she called on the name of Jesus several times. Joan had someone hold up a cross for her to look at while she died. In her dying moments, she was focused on the cross of Christ.


I wonder what Joan thought and what her conversations with God were like. What did she pray about? Who surrounded her? Encouraged her? I can identify with her being an unlikely leader- because I feel like that.

Joan of Arc reminds me that we are all called to be leaders, no matter our background or circumstances. We may not be called to lead armies or be burned at the stake, but we are all called to follow God and live our lives in obedience to Him. You are born for this!


I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me. Galatians 2:20



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Cracked Pot

It is so easy for me to feel disqualified or discouraged, wondering how God can work through me. I compare myself to people who are so much more talented than me. Maybe more than that- I compare mysel

Voices

Did you ever stop and think about how the voices in your life influence you? They will influence what you buy, the events you attend, and what you believe. More importantly, they influence what you be

bottom of page